New York life through a European lens

It’s always hard to come up with an idea for a blog. The problem is there are too many possibilities. What aspect of my life do I want to focus on, which of my interests do I want foreground?

I thought of writing about being Irish in New York, but Irishness always brings with it the risk of cliche. Immediately you think of A Fairytale of New York, of Irish types in Irish pubs downing Guinness wearing plastic shamrock hats. Which isn’t to say that this type of Irishness doesn’t exist.

But what I wanted to focus on was a bit more universal: the life of a modern European girl in the city. I don’t define myself entirely by my nationality — in fact, I’m lucky enough to have a US passport — and in terms of religion, I’m far from the typical Irish Catholic, being really more agnostic, with a half-Lutheran and half-Catholic upbringing. Still, the fact remains that I’m a foreigner in New York, and that’s an experience I share with many people.

So my blog will give you my impressions of America, and specifically my impressions of this wonderful town. I’ll talk about culture and politics, and whatever else occurs to me; and everything will be filtered through my outsider’s transatlantic view.

**********

Brooklyn worspace

Comments
2 Responses to “New York life through a European lens”
  1. Ronan McCrea says:

    Hi Frieda, I love your blog! It is so interesting and well written! Am heading back to London after Christmas tomorrow. Hope you had a good xmas break, Good luck for 2010!

    Ronan

  2. Frieda says:

    Thank you Ronan! Do you have a blog yourself? It’s all the rage these days.

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas & that we get to meet up soon.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

