New York city sky

I’m somewhat addicted to taking these pictures of the New York sky: I could stare at it for hours. I imagine it’s because of my experiences in Dublin, growing up with a surfeit of grey, drizzly weather. As a little girl I remember once finding the clouds so heavy and oppressive that I thought it must be the end of the world … There was just a sense of doom.
New York is a city of fantasy as much as reality, of stereotypes and projections, and for that reason, it can easily disappoint (the crime and poverty here are pretty shocking and sad) — but the city’s skyline has an untouchable glamour, and it lives up to anybody’s dreams.

Columbus Circle & 59th Street

And the same place …

CNN at Columbus Circle

Comments
5 Responses to “New York city sky”
  1. louche says:

    “As a child I remember one day finding the clouds so heavy and oppressive that I thought it must be the end of the world … There was just this sense of doom.”

    Otherwise known as bad weather, which is a phenomenon which afflicts everywhere in the whole world from time to time?

    • Frieda says:

      I take your point; but the memory is a real one. I remember being in the Marley Grange school playground and thinking the grey sky signified something oppressive and doomful. There wasn’t even a chink of blue, and I did feel like it meant the end of the world was coming. I was a very sensitive child, of course!

      And although lots of countries experience bad weather, Ireland is definitely much more cloudy than the US — it rains here, but then it clears.

  2. Frieda says:

    Have edited the sentence quoted, slightly.

  3. Vanessa says:

    I agree Frieda, I know exactly the kind of Dublin day your referring to..and I felt that too!

    • Frieda says:

      Interesting that you had the same experience, Vanessa! I hope it’s not ominous today … New York is actually raining cats and dogs.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

